Banana Blueberry Bread

… best banana bread ever… I’ll get to that in a sec!

Last week = flu. I spent most of the week sneezing, sniffling, blowing my nose, cold, sleepy … basically had a nasty flu! I was not impressed one bit – I just joined the gym again (so did Sid!!), I even went for a jog around the neighbourhood a day earlier, and was pumped to try a running/bike trail I just discovered in our area. My body refused to cooperate.

We also just finished a big pot of comforting Sweet Potato & Sausage soup! Big time delicious… I added cilantro and used angus beef sausages instead – the soup was so good and it got tastier each day. To all my friends and family heading into Fall season – this is highly recommended!

But now I’m back in full swing… you know – jobless and really busy, I find myself spending more time in the kitchen again. Sid is especially happy because there’s always something to eat… and I’m happy too… because Sid is taking a lunch/dinner every day to work, which means we save some $$$! Win-Win!

One day I made Hearty Mexican Tostadas from Tosca Reno’s Eat Clean Diet Cookbook a steal  for $9.99 at Chapters)  – so good! But we could not find canned black beans anywhere… what? So we bought dried beans at a Chinese Grocers and I learned the whole soaking for 6-hrs boiling for 1.5-hrs just to get beans soft method. Hey - I have all the time in the world here!

Yesterday Sid and I promised we’d head in for a Sunday Morning BodyPump class. Even though I fell asleep at 5am (I blame my afternoon I’m-no-longer-sick-and-can-workout workout for all the adrenaline) I dragged myself out of bed. So glad I did.. I was able to increase my weights in almost all areas and couldn’t sit still when we got back home. Sid, the champ, passed out on the couch!

So like I was saying… best banana bread ever –>
We had some ripe (overpriced Australian) bananas and I was like YES!… banana bread. I looked up a few recipes and though I love Martha Stewart recipes I wasn’t willing to add all that sugar. I had pinned some of Daily Garnish’s (a blogger I’m a big fan of) recipes (here and here) and knew I could make something sort-of like it.  I made a few changes, and so I’m sharing this because I just can’t get enough… you won’t either!

I love that it’s not as unhealthy (less sugar), and that I could try some different ingredients in baking (sour cream!) and of course I needed to have some cinnamon and nutmeg because I literally add it to everything I bake.

Banana Blueberry Bread
Pre-heat oven at 180 C

First your dry ingredients:
1 ½ cups of wholemeal flour
2 tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg

Wet ingredients in a separate bowl:
2 large ripe bananas (mush with the back of a fork untill soft)
¼ cup brown sugar
¼ cup maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
½ cup light sour cream

Add wet ingredients to dry (or vice versa) and mix together.
Then add:
1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)
…and gently move around keeping blueberries in-tact.

Grease pan (I only had a cake pan) and add mix.
In a small bowl mix a pinch of cinnamon and raw brown sugar and sprinkle on top of mix – this will give the loaf a nice crunch.
Bake for 55min-1hr at 180C.

Ideally you’d wait 20 minutes before digging in… I waited 5!

I dare you to have just one slice.

Enjoy, my friends!

6 thoughts on “Banana Blueberry Bread

  1. Glad you liked the soup! I’m thinking I’ll make it again soon, although pumpkins and squash are out now so maybe I’ll do soup with those next :) I’m loving my slow cooker right now! :)

Leave a Reply

